School Leadership Team

Welcome to the School Leadership Team!

What is a School Leadership Team—SLT?
School Leadership Teams (SLTs) are school-based organizations composed of an equal number of parents and staff. They meet at least once a month, and determine the structure for school-based planning and shared decision-making.

The SLT Role at PS/MS 165:
The core responsibility of each SLT is to develop the school’s Comprehensive Educational Plan (CEP) that is aligned with the school-based budget. SLTs are strongly encouraged to solicit input from various school community constituencies in order to ensure that all voices are heard regarding the needs of students. Functioning in a collaborative manner, SLTs also help to evaluate the effectiveness of the school’s educational programs and their impact on student achievement. SLTs receive support and guidance as needed from their District Leadership Teams (DLT).

SLT Membership:
SLTs must include as mandatory members: the school principal, the PTA president (or designated co-president), the UFT chapter leader, and an equal number of parents and staff. High school teams must also include at least two students. SLTs may elect to include representatives from community-based organizations. 

Who can attend SLT meetings? 
All SLT Meetings are open and non-SLT members are welcome. We request that non-members do not participate, but ask a question through a written request ahead of time. The question will be addressed by the Chairperson before the end of the meeting. 

Want to Join SLT?
Parent members of an SLT are nominated by the school’s PTA and the term is two years.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please email us at or contact any of the SLT members.

SLT Meeting schedule, 2016-2017
Thursday, October 6th
Thursday, November 3rd
Thursday, December 1st
Thursday, January 5th
Thursday, February 2nd
Thursday, March 2nd
Thursday, April 6th
Thursday, May 4th
Thursday, June 1st

SLT Members, 2015-2017

Michele Sweeting-DeCaro—Parent, Co-Chair
Marlene Raza—Teacher, Co-Chair
Aracelis Castellano, Principal
Johanna Mejia, Teacher
Lorrie Beppell, Teacher
Christina Mallette-Delatola, Teacher
Patrick Seeney, Teacher
Tonya Culley, Parent
Ron Millar, Teacher
Nikki Jennino, Parent
Fabiola Diamond, Parent
Alberto Crespo, Parent